Other people’s pain……

I hold it most days and take it in my stride. I am not special, I just have the ability to hold others’ emotional pain and dark thoughts. It’s not a gift, it’s just the way it is. I have learned that sometimes it feels too heavy and I have to find ways of getting my verve back- not too often thankfully, but I can step away for a nano second and recharge and get right back to it.  Maybe it’s a good way of reducing my own pain ? I could analyse it til the cows come home. But it’s a privilege and a wonder to share others’ pain or fear and accompany them through some of it. Sometimes I witness a lifting , a diluting, a change or an acceptance and then there is the reward. It feels good doing the job I do. I am lucky to have found my vocation.

 

Leave a Reply

